A Book is a Journey…

No, I have not posted in quite some time. And no, I’m not going to make any excuses for it. Though I have plenty.

I just got out of the shower. Literally. My hair is still up in a towel. And I came downstairs to see what toy was causing all the contention and crying and yelling between my two sweet angels. (It’s a Toddler DJ sound machine with a keyboard and records and faders and everything, just in case you were wondering.) And after I asked them to share and be nice or the toy would get a time-out, I was about to go upstairs to do my hair (ok, let’s be honest, run a brush through it and throw it up in a pony tail), when I noticed there was a new blog post in my Google Reader. It was from one of my favorite blogs, “Throwing Up Words.” So I sat and read.

Carol Lynch Williams offered her opinions on “Ten Reasons to Just Write,” and one really caught me and reminded me of something I need to focus on more and keep in mind as a “Big Picture” type of thing.

“9. Remember that a book is a journey. You won’t be the same person at the end of the book as you were when you started writing it. And neither should your main character.”

Huh. So that’s why I started writing my current piece of work. Thanks for the reminder, Carol. Maybe now I can finish. You see, I’ve hit that point where the end is in sight. I’m about to hit that climactic moment and while I assume that is a fantastic place to be for most writers, I haven’t wanted to touch my WIP since I knew it was coming. I don’t want to do it. It’s going to be too painful. But both myself (and my main character) need it to happen. We aren’t the same people as we were when that first chapter was written. And I hope, after people read my novel after I’m all published and famous and all that, my readers aren’t the same people they were when they started reading it either.

That being said, I just finished “13 Reasons Why,” by Jay Asher (and by “just finished,” I mean while my kids ate breakfast this morning). That one definitely took me on a journey in which I ended up being a different person at the end of the novel. And while my subject matter isn’t nearly as intense as suicide and bullying and all that, I still want my audience to feel whet my characters feel. What I felt and had to go through. That’s what good writing does, right?

So, there we have it. A book is a journey. And I need to continue forward with my journey and stop ignoring it. So do you. Go write something.

This entry was posted in Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

